Beef Empire Days » Hopkins Award

Hopkins Award

The Beef Empire Days, Inc. Board of Directors will award annually the Mary M. Hopkins Award for Volunteer Service. This award is in recognition of and in memorial to our Lifetime Director, Mary M. Hopkins. The award is intended to recognize the volunteer spirit, hard work and dedication of longtime beef industry and community volunteers. The recipient will be chosen based upon the information provided in the nomination form and reviewed by the Beef Empire Days Board of Directors. A traveling bronze sculpture will be awarded to the recipient at the annual Beef Empire Days Awards Banquet. The winner may select to display the piece at their work or home and will have possession of the award for one year. At the next year's Awards Banquet the bronze will be presented to a new recipient while the former year recipient will be given a plaque that is of similar design to keep.

The guidelines for nomination include the following four areas:


  • First and foremost, the nominee must have a longtime history of volunteer service in their community.

  • Second, the nominee must have a proven track record of promoting the beef industry.

  • Third, it is the desire of the Board of Directors that the nominee have been involved in beef promotion for a minimum of ten years.

  • Finally, the nominee must have been involved in a minimum of three (3) different volunteer capacities that are directly related in 

            the beef industry.


This award was started to honor Mary Hopkins who was the first Sec./Treas. of Beef Empire Days. Mary

was an individual who never wanted to run the show (so to speak) but was ready and willing to do

anything to promote and further the cause of the Beef Industry. If a job needed to be done, she was

there to lend a helping hand. Mary was a worker and lifetime member of the Board of Directors of BED.

She was one of only two individuals who served as President twice of BED. When she passed on, the

board felt she should be honored for all her personal time and promotion of the Beef Industry.

The Mary Hopkins Award is intended to recognize the volunteer spirit, hard work and dedication of

longtime beef industry and community volunteers.


Individuals who have been honored with this award are as followed:


2015 Lee Reeve


2014 Dr Robert Lee


2013 Dell Allen


2012 Larry Jones


2011 Darinda Gerber


2010 Stan Fansher


2009 Gale Seibert


2008 Barbara Oringderff


2007 Bill Hogan


2006 Dr. Dave Schafer


2005 Dale Gillen


2004 Dr. Don Good


2003 Ray Purdy



BEEF...Say it again!

Friday, June 2nd through Sunday, June 11th, 2017